Welcome to KibangaBooks Shop

Half a yellow sun;Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

KShs1,450.00

A masterly, haunting novel from a writer heralded by The Washington Post Book World as “the 21st-century daughter of Chinua Achebe,” Half of a Yellow Sun recreates a seminal moment in modern African history: Biafra’s impassioned struggle to establish an independent republic in Nigeria, and the chilling violence that followed. Published in 2006, Half of A Yellow Sun garnered numerous accolades and was awarded the Orange Prize for Fiction in 2007.

With astonishing empathy and the effortless grace of a natural storyteller, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie weaves together the lives of three characters swept up in the turbulence of the decade.

Thirteen-year-old Ugwu is employed as a houseboy for a university professor full of revolutionary zeal. Olanna is the professor’s beautiful mistress, who has abandoned her life of privilege in Lagos for a dusty university town and the charisma of her new lover. And Richard is a shy young Englishman in thrall to Olanna’s twin sister, an enigmatic figure who refuses to belong to anyone. As Nigerian troops advance and they must run for their lives, their ideals are severely tested, as are their loyalties to one another.

Epic, ambitious, and triumphantly realized, Half of a Yellow Sun is a remarkable novel about moral responsibility, about the end of colonialism, about ethnic allegiances, about class and race—and about the ways in which love can complicate them all.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Half a yellow sun;Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Kibangabooks
  • Vendor: Kibangabooks
  • Address: nairobi
  • 3.11 rating from 9 reviews
  • New!

    Regarded as a great instance of twentieth century English Literature, George Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four was first published in the summer of 1949, and set in Oceania—one of the three intercontinental superstates.

    In this novel, Orwell presents a powerful critique of the times through the fictional global war among the super powers of Oceania that had divided the whole world. Orwell creates a convincing and haunting imaginary world steeped into political ravages and dis-organization. His masterful critique of the political structures of the times comes out through the life of Winston Smith, a man caught in the web of a dystopian future, and his covert affair with Julia, a woman he meets during his service at a Government post.

    Brilliantly woven with a genial Orwellian spark, this novel is a classic satirical take on the political and social structures of all times.

    Add to cart
  • With a wife he loves and an exciting London-based career, architect Charles Waterston’s life seems in perfect balance. Nothing in his comfortable existence prepares him for the sudden end to his ten-year marriage—or his unwanted transfer to his firm’s New York office. With nothing left to lose, Charlie takes a leave of absence from his job to drive through New England, hoping to make peace with himself.

    Add to cart
  • The must-read new bold and immersive West African-inspired fantasy series, as featured on Cosmo, Bustle, Book Riot, and Refinery 29. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther. Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman’s worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold – the colour of impurity, of a demon – she faces a consequence worse than death.

    She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: she is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed…

    “Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one.” Buzzfeed “[A] stormingly good debut.”

    The Observer “Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy.”

    Refinery 29 “The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful.”

    Stephanie Garber, #1 NYT bestselling author of Caraval – “A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold, The Gilded Ones lifts the veil of violent patriarchy and burns the idea of purity to the ground. Must read!” Dhonielle Clayton, NYT bestselling author of The Belles “Debut author Namina Forna’s created a fierce female protagonist you’ll root for and a captivating world that feels so real you can step inside it.” Bookriot

     

    BUY Gilded Ones by Namina Forna affordable price in Nairobi, Kenya.

     

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Kenyan motivational books. FREE Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
  • Robin Sharma believes there are certain skills and attitudes that allow you to rise to extraordinary success. In his powerful new parable, he offers a story designed to help people from all walks of life to achieve great things. The text is packed with real-world lessons that will help anyone realize extraordinary results.

    Author: Robin Sharma

    ISBN:9781847378774

    Add to cart
  • Good Vibes, Good Life: How Self-Love Is the Key to Unlocking Your Greatness Good Vibes, Good Life: How Self-Love Is the Key to Unlocking Your Greatness; Vex King is leading a revolution for the next generation of spiritual seekers. An online inspiration to hundreds of thousands of people, Vex is a role model for young people seeking a new way of living. Vex beat all the odds of an incredibly difficult childhood – his family were often homeless and he suffered racist abuse in a violent neighbourhood. Despite these challenges, Vex went on to complete university and thrive in his career. His work brought him into contact with people who started asking him for life advice and Vex began sharing his ideas through social media. His positive and encouraging posts very quickly began to attract a highly engaged following who related to his messages and looked to Vex for guidance. This book is a collection of Vex’s most popular wisdom. It is a guide to transforming negative emotions to positive ones, developing self-love, mind mastery, and goal setting, and finding a deeper purpose in life. On social media, Vex is asked the same questions over and over again. This book is the answer to these key questions which Vex has collected over the years- – How have you become so positive and happy, especially after such a devastating upbringing – and how can I do the same? – How do I transform negative emotions into positive ones? – How can I truly love myself, and what does it mean? – How should I handle negative people, especially my loved ones? – Why aren’t my goals manifesting? – Why doesn’t life always go to plan? – What is my purpose in life and how do I find it? – What is the true meaning of happiness? Good Vibes, Good Life shares deep spiritual knowledge in a way that’s easy to understand, while providing practical solutions. Down-to-earth and relatable, this book is for those seeking a way out of darkness and the tools to build a new life. Author BiographyVex King is a young British Indian social influencer, mind coach, writer, and lifestyle entrepreneur. He is the owner of the Bon Vita lifestyle brand, which Author; Vex King ISBN;9781788171823
    Add to cart
  • This trio of sharp-witted essays takes irony to a new level. In ‘How to Write About Africa’, Wainaina dissects the cliché of Africa and the preconceptions dear to western writers and readers with ruthless precision. In the same fashion, ‘My Clan KC’ undresses the layers of meaning shrouding the identity of the infamous Kenya Cowboy, while ‘Power of Love’ bemusedly recollects the advent of the celebrities-for-Africa phenomenon, heralded by the mid-eighties hit song ‘We Are The World’.

    Add to cart
Category:

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop
×