Welcome to KibangaBooks Shop

Striving for the Wind Meja Mwangi

KSh750.00

Set in Kenya, this portrayal of post-colonial decadence features the newly wealthy black landowner, Baba Pesa, who clashes with his family, friends and neighbours as he attempts to gain financial dominance of his region

Compare

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Striving for the Wind Meja Mwangi”

Your email address will not be published.

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Kibangabooks
  • Vendor: Kibangabooks
  • Address: nairobi
  • 3.60 rating from 5 reviews
  • The play opens at Christmas time as Nora Helmer enters her home carrying many packages. Nora’s husband Torvald is working in his study when she arrives. He playfully rebukes her for spending so much money on Christmas gifts, calling her his “little squirrel.” He teases her about how the previous year she had spent weeks making gifts and ornaments by hand because money was scarce. This year Torvald is due a promotion at the bank where he works, so Nora feels that they can let themselves go a little. The maid announces two visitors: Mrs. Kristine Linde, an old friend of Nora’s, who has come seeking employment; and Dr. Rank, a close friend of the family, who is let into the study. Kristine has had a difficult few years, ever since her husband died leaving her with no money or children. Nora says that things have not been easy for them either: Torvald became sick, and they had to travel to Italy so he could recover. Kristine explains that when her mother was ill she had to take care of her brothers, but now that they are grown she feels her life is “unspeakably empty.” Nora promises to talk to Torvald about finding her a job. Kristine gently tells Nora that she is like a child. Nora is offended, so she teases the idea that she got money from “some admirer” so they could travel to Italy to improve Torvald’s health. She told Torvald that her father gave her the money, but in fact she illegally borrowed it without his knowledge (women were forbidden from conducting financial activities such as signing checks without a man’s endorsement). Since then, she has been secretly working and saving up to pay off the loan.

    Krogstad, a lower-level employee at Torvald’s bank, arrives and goes into the study. Nora is clearly uneasy when she sees him. Dr. Rank leaves the study and mentions that he feels wretched, though like everyone he wants to go on living. In contrast to his physical illness, he says that the man in the study, Krogstad, is “morally diseased.”

    Add to cart
  • New!

    INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERThe #1 New York Times bestselling author of It Ends with Us-whose writing is “emotionally wrenching and utterly original” (Sara Shepard, New York Times bestselling author of the Pretty Little Liars series)-delivers a tour de force novel about a troubled marriage and the one old forgotten promise that might be able to save it. Quinn and Graham’s perfect love is threatened by their imperfect marriage. The memories, mistakes, and secrets that they have built up over the years are now tearing them apart.

    The one thing that could save them might also be the very thing that pushes their marriage beyond the point of repair. All Your Perfects is a profound novel about a damaged couple whose potential future hinges on promises made in the past. This is a heartbreaking page-turner that asks: Can a resounding love with a perfect beginning survive a lifetime between two imperfect people?

     

    BUY ALL YOUR PERFECTS A NOVEL- COLLEEN HOOVER Author : Colleen Hoover affordable price in Nairobi, Kenya.

     

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Kenyan motivational books. FREE Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
  • Start With Why has led millions of readers to rethink everything they do, in their personal lives, their careers and their organisations.

    Now Find Your Why picks up where Start With Why left off. It shows you how to apply Simon Sinek’s powerful insights so that you can find more inspiration at work and in turn inspire those around you.

    This hands-on, step-by-step guide will help you to find your WHY. With detailed exercises, illustrations and action steps for every stage of the process, Find Your Why can help you address many important concerns including:

    -What if my WHY sounds like my competitors?
    -Can I have more than one WHY?
    -If my work doesn’t match my WHY, what should I do?
    -What if my team can’t agree on our WHY?

    Whether you’ve just started your first job, are leading a team or are CEO of your own company, the exercises in this book will help guide you on a path to long-term success and fulfilment, both for you and your colleagues.

     

    Buy cheapest book, Find Your Why: A Practical Guide for Discovering Purpose for You and Your Team by Simon Sinek online at best price in Nairobi, Kenya

    Book Available in kenya| Leading and best Online bookstore/ bookshop| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
  • Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world a heartbreaking coming of age story and a surprising tale of possible murder.

    Add to cart
  • OUT OF STOCK

    This novel is by the author of the celebrated My Life in Crime and is his first. The life of the ‘Son of Fate’ is a grim struggle for survival, after his release from prison. He tries his luck at farming, and odd jobs in the city, but everything fails, and he finds himself on the wrong side of the law again. But a glimmer of hope comes when he rescues a tycoon.

    Read more
  • New!

    We’re all afraid. We’re afraid of asking for what we want because we’re afraid of hearing “no.” We’re afraid of being different, of being too much or not enough. We’re afraid of leaving behind the known for the unknown. But in order to do the things that will truly, meaningfully change our lives, we have to become professional troublemakers: people who are committed to not letting fear talk them out of the things they need to do or say to live free.

    With humor and honesty, and guided by the influence of her professional troublemaking Nigerian grandmother, Funmilayo Faloyin, Luvvie walks us through what we must get right within ourselves before we can do the things that scare us; how to use our voice for a greater good; and how to put movement to the voice we’ve been silencing-because truth-telling is a muscle.

    The point is not to be fearless, but to know we are afraid and charge forward regardless. It is to recognize that the things we must do are more significant than our fears. This book is about how to live boldly in spite of all the reasons we have to cower. Let’s go!

    Add to cart
Category:

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop
×