Welcome to KibangaBooks Shop

The fire next time;James Baldwin

KSh1,495.00

The landmark work on race in America from James Baldwin, whose life and words are immortalized in the Oscar-nominated film I Am Not Your Negro

‘We, the black and the white, deeply need each other here if we are really to become a nation’

James Baldwin’s impassioned plea to ‘end the racial nightmare’ in America was a bestseller when it appeared in 1963, galvanising a nation and giving voice to the emerging civil rights movement. Told in the form of two intensely personal ‘letters’, The Fire Next Time is at once a powerful evocation of Baldwin’s early life in Harlem and an excoriating condemnation of the terrible legacy of racial injustice.

‘Sermon, ultimatum, confession, deposition, testament, and chronicle … all presented in searing, brilliant prose’ The New York Times Book Review

‘Baldwin writes with great passion … it reeks of truth, as the ghettoes of New York and London, Chicago and Manchester reek of our hypocrisy’ Sunday Times

‘The great poet-prophet of the civil rights movement … his seminal work’ Guardian

Author: James Baldwin

ISBN:9780140182750

Out of stock

Notify me when the book is back in stock

Compare

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The fire next time;James Baldwin”

Your email address will not be published.

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Kibangabooks
  • Vendor: Kibangabooks
  • Address: nairobi
  • 3.60 rating from 5 reviews
  • Bestselling author Stormie Omartian raised teenagers to adulthood, and her mother’s heart for this age group (14- to 18-year-olds) gives her the perfect foundation for a book on prayer specifically targeting this exciting and challenging time of life.Along with Scripture verses and true stories of teens in action, The Power of a Praying® Teen addresses key issues young people face, including

    • purity
    • peer pressure
    • insecurity
    • body/self-image
    • friendships

    Each segment of the book concludes with a prayer that teens can follow or use as a model for their own prayers. Easy-to-access chapters focus on what it means to be maturing in all areas of life, including talking to God in prayer. Young men and women just on the cusp of growing up will find the compassion, help, direction, strength, and stability that comes with knowing and hearing from God in The Power of a Praying Teen.’

    ISBN: 9789966169532 SKU: 2031609600430

    Add to cart
  • In this new book, Become a Better You, Joel Osteen offers seven simple yet profound action steps that will help readers discover the better things they were born for… their individual purpose and destiny. As charming and passionate on the page as he is in person, Osteen incorporates key biblical principles, devotions, and personal testimonies that will uplift and enlighten readers. He speaks directly to the hearts and concerns of people from every walk of life. People love Joel Osteen–they love to be in his presence, to hear him speak, and to read what he’s written–they just can’t get enough of him.

    Become a Better You will encourage and inspire readers to reach their full, unique and God given potential.

    Add to cart
  • The 7 Habits have become famous and are integrated into everyday thinking by millions and millions of people. Why? Because they work!

    With Sean Covey’s added takeaways on how the habits can be used in our modern age, the wisdom of the 7 Habits will be refreshed for a new generation of leaders.

    They include:
    Habit 1: Be Proactive
    Habit 2: Begin with the End in Mind
    Habit 3: Put First Things First
    Habit 4: Think Win/Win
    Habit 5: Seek First to Understand, Then to Be Understood
    Habit 6: Synergize
    Habit 7: Sharpen the Saw

    This beloved classic presents a principle-centered approach for solving both personal and professional problems. With penetrating insights and practical anecdotes, Stephen R. Covey reveals a step-by-step pathway for living with fairness, integrity, honesty, and human dignity—principles that give us the security to adapt to change and the wisdom and power to take advantage of the opportunities that change creates.

    Add to cart
  • Are there tried and true principles that are always certain to help a person grow? John Maxwell says the answer is yes. He has been passionate about personal development for over fifty years, and here, he teaches everything he has gleaned about what it takes to reach our potential. In the way that only he can communicate, John teaches . . .

    The Law of the Mirror: You Must See Value in Yourself to Add Value to Yourself
    The Law of Awareness: You Must Know Yourself to Grow Yourself
    The Law of Modeling: It’s Hard to Improve When You Have No One But Yourself to Follow
    The Law of the Rubber Band: Growth Stops When You Lose the Tension Between Where You are and Where You Could Be
    The Law of Contribution: Developing Yourself Enables You to Develop Others

    This compact read will help readers become lifelong learners whose potential keeps increasing and never gets “used up.”

    Add to cart
  • Secrets of the Millionaire Mind reveals the missing link between wanting success and achieving it!

    Have you ever wondered why some people seem to get rich easily, while others are destined for a life of financial struggle?

    Is the difference found in their education, intelligence, skills, timing, work habits, contacts, luck, or their choice of jobs, businesses, or investments?

    The shocking answer is: None of the above!

     

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
  • Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world a heartbreaking coming of age story and a surprising tale of possible murder.

    Add to cart
Category:

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop
×