Welcome to KibangaBooks Shop

I know why the caged bird sings;Maya Angelou

KShs1,295.00

Here is a book as joyous and painful, as mysterious and memorable, as childhood itself.I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings captures the longing of lonely children, the brute insult of bigotry, and the wonder of words that can make the world right. Maya Angelou’s debut memoir is a modern American classic beloved worldwide.

Sent by their mother to live with their devout, self-sufficient grandmother in a small Southern town, Maya and her brother, Bailey, endure the ache of abandonment and the prejudice of the local “powhitetrash.” At eight years old and back at her mother’s side in St. Louis, Maya is attacked by a man many times her age—and has to live with the consequences for a lifetime. Years later, in San Francisco, Maya learns that love for herself, the kindness of others, her own strong spirit, and the ideas of great authors (“I met and fell in love with William Shakespeare”) will allow her to be free instead of imprisoned.

Poetic and powerful, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings will touch hearts and change minds for as long as people read.
 
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings liberates the reader into life simply because Maya Angelou confronts her own life with such a moving wonder, such a luminous dignity.”—James Baldwin

4 in stock

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “I know why the caged bird sings;Maya Angelou”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Kibangabooks
  • Vendor: Kibangabooks
  • Address: nairobi
  • 3.11 rating from 9 reviews
  • New!

    From the moment the author arrived in Kenya in to manage a coffee plantation her heart belonged to Africa Drawn to the intense colours and ravishing landscapes she spent her happiest years on the farm In this title her experiences and friendships with the people around her are vividly recalled

    Add to cart
  • OUT OF STOCK

    The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman’s heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project and David Nicholl’s US. New York Times bestseller’Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving’ Daily Mail’Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it’ Spectator Books of the YearAt first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet.

    He thinks himself surrounded by idiots – neighbours who can’t reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d’etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents’ Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn’t it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible…

    Read more
  • Crushing (International): God Turns Pressure into Power

    Bestselling inspirational author T.D. Jakes reveals God’s process for our growth and how we can benefit from life’s challenging experiences.

    In this insightful book, #1 New York Times bestselling author T.D. Jakes wrestles with the age-old questions: Why do the righteous suffer? Where is God in all the injustice?

    In his most personal offering yet, Bishop Jakes tells crushing stories from his own journey-the painful experience of learning his young teenage daughter was pregnant, the agony of watching his mother succumb to Alzheimer’s, and the shock and helplessness he felt when his son had a heart attack.

    Bishop Jakes wants to encourage you that God uses difficult, crushing experiences to prepare you for unexpected blessings. If you are faithful through suffering, you will be surprised by God’s joy, comforted by His peace, and fulfilled with His purpose.

    CRUSHING will inspire you to have hope, even in your most difficult moments. If you trust in God and lean on Him during setbacks, He will lead you through.

    Author: T D JAKES
    ISBN; 9781546035657

     

    Buy Crushing by TD jAKES Book in Kenya Nairobi.

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
  • The Miracle Equation: You Are Only Two Decisions Away From Everything You Want by Hal Elrod

    The bestselling author of THE MIRACLE MORNING shares the secret to unlocking your full potential – all day, every day.

    And THE MIRACLE EQUATION now includes a brand new bonus chapter on maximising your MIRACLE MORNING.

    Even after the incredible success of his book THE MIRACLE MORNINGHal Elrod realized that he still had more to share with the world. What he had discovered was a timeless but overlooked formula for success. The world’s top achievers have used it for centuries. He used it to thrive against seemingly insurmountable odds, from overcoming life-threatening health challenges to near financial collapse.

    That formula is The Miracle Equation, and it couldn’t be any simpler:

    Unwavering Faith + Extraordinary Effort = Miracles

    By establishing and maintaining Unwavering Faith that you can achieve anything you desire, and then putting forth Extraordinary Effort until you do, you’ll create results beyond what you believe to be possible. In The Miracle Equation, you’ll learn how to

    * Replace fear with faith
    * Move from resistance to acceptance
    * Let go of negative emotions
    * Turn off your stress response
    * Overcome your limitations to unlock your limitless potential
    * Develop emotional invincibility
    * Grow from happiness, which is fleeting, to inner peace, which is lasting

    And with the Miracle Equation 30-Day Challenge to guide your way, you’ll create a step-by-step plan to actualize your miracles and become the person you need to be in order to succeed. No goal is out of reach!

    The Miracle Equation isn’t just a book, it’s the formula that I myself have used to achieve greatness beyond what I ever believed was possible. Hal Elrod has taken the mystery out of miracles and gives you a simple, proven formula for creating extraordinary results in your life. Highly recommended’ Lewis Howes, New York Times bestselling author of The School of Greatness

    ‘You’re only two decisions away from achieving everything you want. And my friend, Hal Elrod, has simplified these two decisions into a simple equation for achieving results. Follow it, and your success is virtually guaranteed. If you want your biggest goals to move from possible, to probable, to inevitable, you better read The Miracle Equation’ Mel Robbins, bestselling author of The 5-Second Rule

    Add to cart
  • New!
    OUT OF STOCK

    Stop going through life,
    Start growing through life!

    While navigating their way through Mumbai’s horrendous traffic, Gaur Gopal Das and his wealthy young friend Harry get talking, delving into concepts ranging from the human condition to finding one’s purpose in life and the key to lasting happiness.

    Whether you are looking at strengthening your relationships, discovering your true potential, understanding how to do well at work or even how you can give back to the world, Gaur Gopal Das takes us on an unforgettable journey with his precious insights on these areas of life.

    Das is one of the most popular and sought-after monks and life coaches in the world, having shared his wisdom with millions. His debut book, Life’s Amazing Secrets, distils his experiences and lessons about life into a light-hearted, thought-provoking book that will help you align yourself with the life you want to live.

    Read more
  • Let’s face it: Greg Heffley will never change his wimpy ways. Somebody just needs to explain that to Greg’s father. You see, Frank Heffley actually thinks he can get his son to toughen up, and he enlists Greg in organized sports and other “manly” endeavors. Of course, Greg is easily able to sidestep his father’s efforts to change him. But when Greg’s dad threatens to send him to military academy, Greg realizes he has to shape up . . . or get shipped out.

    Add to cart
Category:

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop
×