Welcome to KibangaBooks Shop

One Day I Will Write About This Place: A Memoir by Binyavanga Wainaina

KShs1,795.00

Binyavanga Wainaina tumbled through his middle-class Kenyan childhood out of kilter with the world around him. This world came to him as a chaos of loud and colorful sounds: the hair dryers at his mother’s beauty parlor, black mamba bicycle bells, mechanics in Nairobi, the music of Michael Jackson—all punctuated by the infectious laughter of his brother and sister, Jimmy and Ciru. He could fall in with their patterns, but it would take him a while to carve out his own.

In this vivid and compelling debut memoir, Wainaina takes us through his school days, his mother’s religious period, his failed attempt to study in South Africa as a computer programmer, a moving family reunion in Uganda, and his travels around Kenya. The landscape in front of him always claims his main attention, but he also evokes the shifting political scene that unsettles his views on family, tribe, and nationhood.

Throughout, reading is his refuge and his solace. And when, in 2002, a writing prize comes through, the door is opened for him to pursue the career that perhaps had been beckoning all along. A series of fascinating international reporting assignments follow. Finally he circles back to a Kenya in the throes of postelection violence and finds he is not the only one questioning the old certainties.

Resolutely avoiding stereotype and cliché, Wainaina paints every scene in One Day I Will Write About This Place with a highly distinctive and hugely memorable brush.

2 in stock

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “One Day I Will Write About This Place: A Memoir by Binyavanga Wainaina”

Your email address will not be published.

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Kibangabooks
  • Vendor: Kibangabooks
  • Address: nairobi
  • 3.11 rating from 9 reviews
  • New!

    ‘I loved every page’ Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Kiss Quotient’Smart, funny, and sexy’ Meg Cabot, author of No Judgments and the Princess Diaries seriesTalia Hibbert delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being ‘boring’ and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbour to help her get a life – perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory and Helen Hoang!Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan and a list. After almost – but not quite – dying, she’s come up with a list of directives to help her ‘Get a Life’: – Enjoy a drunken night out – Ride a motorbike – Go camping – Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex – Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage – And . .

    . do something badBut it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written out step-by-step guidelines. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job: Redford ‘Red’ Morgan.

    With tattoos and a motorbike, Red is the perfect helper in her mission to rebel, but as they spend more time together, Chloe realises there’s much more to him than his tough exterior implies. Soon she’s left wanting more from him than she ever expected . .

    . maybe there’s more to life than her list ever imagined?***Praise for Get A Life, Chloe Brown:’Funny, sexy and intensely romantic’ Lucy Parker, author of The Austen Playbook’Clever, sweet, sexy and brilliant’ Carrie Ann Ryan, New York Times bestselling author’So so so so good’ Andie J. Christopher, USA Today bestselling author of Not the Girl You Marry’A pure exuberant delight.

    I loved this book’ KJ Charles, author of Proper English'[An] awesome book, so full of heart and warmth and feels!’ Charlotte Stein, author of Never Sweeter’Hilarious, heartfelt and hot’ Kirkus Reviews (starred review)’If you liked Jasmine Guillroy’s The Proposal, you’ll love Talia Hibbert’s Get A Life, Chloe Brown’ Marie Claire

     

    Buy GET A LIFE CHLOE BROWN THE PERFECT FUN AND FEEL GOOD ROMANCE Author : Talia Hibbert online at best price in Nairobi, Kenya

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
  • When a horrific chairlift accident leaves 17-year-old competitive skier Lily Thomas paralyzed, she must come to grips with the fact that she’ll not only be confined to a wheelchair for the rest of her life, but will never fulfill her lifelong dream of winning Olympic gold. Meanwhile, her wealthy father, who has doted on Lily since her mother died when she was three, is devastated as he watches his only child lose all she once cherished and suffer through the arduous road to recovery. But just as all hope seems lost, Lily meets Teddy, a young man even more badly injured than she, but as doggedly determined to live an enriching life. Danielle Steel is at her best in this powerful story of a father and daughter triumphing together over unthinkable tragedy, creating new lives for themselves and providing hope for others along the way

    Add to cart
  • In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and CEO Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world’s most iconic, game-changing, and profitable brands.

    In 1962, fresh out of business school, Phil Knight borrowed $50 from his father and created a company with a simple mission: import high-quality, low-cost athletic shoes from Japan. Selling the shoes from the trunk of his lime green Plymouth Valiant, Knight grossed $8,000 his first year. Today, Nike’s annual sales top $30 billion. In an age of startups, Nike is the ne plus ultra of all startups, and the swoosh has become a revolutionary, globe-spanning icon, one of the most ubiquitous and recognizable symbols in the world today.

    But Knight, the man behind the swoosh, has always remained a mystery. Now, for the first time, in a memoir that is candid, humble, gutsy, and wry, he tells his story, beginning with his crossroads moment. At 24, after backpacking around the world, he decided to take the unconventional path, to start his own business—a business that would be dynamic, different.

    Knight details the many risks and daunting setbacks that stood between him and his dream—along with his early triumphs. Above all, he recalls the formative relationships with his first partners and employees, a ragtag group of misfits and seekers who became a tight-knit band of brothers. Together, harnessing the transcendent power of a shared mission, and a deep belief in the spirit of sport, they built a brand that changed everything.

    Author: Phil Knight

    ISBN:9781471146725

    Add to cart
  • New!

    The first nine months of donald trump’s term were stormy, outrageous‚aiand absolutely mesmerizing. Now, thanks to his deep access to the west wing, bestselling author michael wolff tells the riveting story of how trump launched a tenure as volatile and fiery as the man himself.in this explosive book, wolff provides a wealth of new details about the chaos in the oval office. Among the revelations:‚ai what president trump’s staff really thinks of him‚ai what inspired trump to claim he was wire-tapped by president obama‚ai why fbi director james comey was really fired‚ai why chief strategist steve bannon and trump’s son-in-law jared kushner couldn’t be in the same room‚ai who is really directing the trump administration’s strategy in the wake of bannon’s firing‚ai what the secret to communicating with trump is‚ai what the trump administration has in common with the moviethe producersnever before has a presidency so divided the american people. Brilliantly reported and astoundingly fresh, michael wolff’sfire and furyshows us how and why donald trump has become the king of discord and disunion.

    Add to cart
  • In 1940, nineteen-year-old Vivian Morris has just been kicked out of Vassar College, owing to her lacklustre freshman-year performance. Her affluent parents send her to Manhattan to live with her Aunt Peg, who owns a flamboyant, crumbling midtown theatre called the Lily Playhouse. There Vivian is introduced to an entire cosmos of unconventional and charismatic characters, from the fun-chasing showgirls to a sexy male actor, a grand-dame actress, a lady-killer writer, and no-nonsense stage manager. But when Vivian makes a personal mistake that results in a professional scandal, it turns her new world upside down in ways that it will take her years to fully understand. Ultimately, though, it leads her to a new understanding of the kind of life she craves-and the kind of freedom it takes to pursue it. It will also lead to the love of her life, a love that stands out from all the rest.

    Now ninety-five years old and telling her story, at last, Vivian recalls how the events of those years altered the course of her life – and the gusto and autonomy with which she approached it. At some point in a woman’s life, she just gets tired of being ashamed all the time, she muses. After that, she is free to become whoever she truly is. Written with powerful wisdom about human desire and connection, City of Girls is a love story like no other.

    Add to cart
Category:

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop
×