Welcome to KibangaBooks Shop

The Crown of beauty for Ashes;Thitu Kariba

KShs795.00

My Crown of Beauty for Ashes is a personal account of the author’s tribulations following early childhood sexual abuse. The abuse first occurs through a twisted and friendly gardener, and later escalates to other men, who molests and rapes her.

The abuse is so bad it sends the author to a streak of self-destructive tendencies and behaviour through alcoholism, indiscriminate sexual encounters – including same-sex liaison. A period of renewed rape in Tanzania results in a pregnancy by a side boyfriend from which a child is finally born. Despite a new sense to life, a return to the risky life by the narrator leads to depression and institutionalization.

However, through strong and loving friends, the narrator is able to overcome challenges, embracing a religion and personal acceptance.

The central theme is abuse. The book explores how this happens, the consequences, what may be done to avoid its recurrence and how to find healing from trauma and other negative consequences.

The author also expresses some liberal views on matters of education – an indictment of the Kenyan system – mainly from the author’s personal experience. The author extends this liberal viewpoint to matters relating to childhood care, religion and self-awareness.

The book is written from a first person point of view. All that is stated is true about real-life situations that happened to the narrator.

8 in stock

My Crown of Beauty for Ashes is a personal account of the author’s tribulations following early childhood sexual abuse. The abuse first occurs through a twisted and friendly gardener, and later escalates to other men, who molests and rapes her.

The abuse is so bad it sends the author to a streak of self-destructive tendencies and behaviour through alcoholism, indiscriminate sexual encounters – including same-sex liaison. A period of renewed rape in Tanzania results in a pregnancy by a side boyfriend from which a child is finally born. Despite a new sense to life, a return to the risky life by the narrator leads to depression and institutionalization.

However, through strong and loving friends, the narrator is able to overcome challenges, embracing a religion and personal acceptance.

The central theme is abuse. The book explores how this happens, the consequences, what may be done to avoid its recurrence and how to find healing from trauma and other negative consequences.

The author also expresses some liberal views on matters of education – an indictment of the Kenyan system – mainly from the author’s personal experience. The author extends this liberal viewpoint to matters relating to childhood care, religion and self-awareness.

The book is written from a first person point of view. All that is stated is true about real-life situations that happened to the narrator.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Crown of beauty for Ashes;Thitu Kariba”

Your email address will not be published.

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Kibangabooks
  • Vendor: Kibangabooks
  • Address: nairobi
  • 3.11 rating from 9 reviews
  • Do you remember the last major initiative you watched die in your organisation? Did it go down with a loud crash? Or was it slowly and quietly suffocated by other competing priorities? By the time it finally disappeared, it’s quite likely no one even noticed.

    Almost every company struggles with making change happen. The 4 Disciplines of Execution: Revised and Updated is meant to help you reach the goals you’ve always dreamed of with a simple, repeatable, and proven formula. In this updated edition of the business bestseller that ‘every leader should read’ (Clayton Christensen, Professor at Harvard Business School and author of The Innovator’s Dilemma), you’ll learn the 4 Disciplines of Execution and how to make them work for your organisation.

    This proven set of practices have been tested and refined by hundreds of organisations and thousands of teams over many years. When a company or an individual adheres to these principles, they achieve superb results, regardless of the goal. These 4 Disciplines of Execution represent a new way to work and think that is essential to creating lasting organisational change and thriving in today’s competitive climate. It’s the one book that no leader can afford to miss.

     

    Buy The 4 Disciplines of Execution by Sean Covey, Jim Huling, Chris McChesney  online at best price in Nairobi, Kenya

    Book Available in kenya| Leading Online bookstore/ bookshop| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart

  • The Fall of A dynasty Tyrants hustlers and Liberators A bloody struggle for power by Joe Khamisi

    Add to cart
  • New!

    Traditional accounts of the making of the modern world afford a place of primacy to European history. Some credit the fifteenth-century Age of Discovery and the maritime connection it established between West and East; others the accidental unearthing of the “New World.” Still others point to the development of the scientific method, or the spread of Judeo-Christian beliefs; and so on, ad infinitum. The history of Africa, by contrast, has long been relegated to the remote outskirts of our global story. What if, instead, we put Africa and Africans at the very center of our thinking about the origins of modernity?

    In a sweeping narrative spanning more than six centuries, Howard W. French does just that, for Born in Blackness vitally reframes the story of medieval and emerging Africa, demonstrating how the economic ascendancy of Europe, the anchoring of democracy in the West, and the fulfillment of so-called Enlightenment ideals all grew out of Europe’s dehumanizing engagement with the “dark” continent. In fact, French reveals, the first impetus for the Age of Discovery was not—as we are so often told, even today—Europe’s yearning for ties with Asia, but rather its centuries-old desire to forge a trade in gold with legendarily rich Black societies sequestered away in the heart of West Africa.

    Creating a historical narrative that begins with the commencement of commercial relations between Portugal and Africa in the fifteenth century and ends with the onset of World War II, Born in Blacknessinterweaves precise historical detail with poignant, personal reportage. In so doing, it dramatically retrieves the lives of major African historical figures, from the unimaginably rich medieval emperors who traded with the Near East and beyond, to the Kongo sovereigns who heroically battled seventeenth-century European powers, to the ex-slaves who liberated Haitians from bondage and profoundly altered the course of American history.

    While French cogently demonstrates the centrality of Africa to the rise of the modern world, Born in Blackness becomes, at the same time, a far more significant narrative, one that reveals a long-concealed history of trivialization and, more often, elision in depictions of African history throughout the last five hundred years. As French shows, the achievements of sovereign African nations and their now-far-flung peoples have time and again been etiolated and deliberately erased from modern history. As the West ascended, their stories—siloed and piecemeal—were swept into secluded corners, thus setting the stage for the hagiographic “rise of the West” theories that have endured to this day.

    “Capacious and compelling” (Laurent Dubois), Born in Blackness is epic history on the grand scale. In the lofty tradition of bold, revisionist narratives, it reframes the story of gold and tobacco, sugar and cotton—and of the greatest “commodity” of them all, the twelve million people who were brought in chains from Africa to the “New World,” whose reclaimed lives shed a harsh light on our present world.

    Add to cart
  • Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world a heartbreaking coming of age story and a surprising tale of possible murder

    Add to cart
  • Four-time New York Times bestselling author Gary Vaynerchuk offers new lessons and inspiration drawn from the experiences of dozens of influencers and entrepreneurs who rejected the predictable corporate path in favor of pursuing their dreams by building thriving businesses and extraordinary personal brands.

    In his 2009 international bestseller Crush It, Gary insisted that a vibrant personal brand was crucial to entrepreneurial success, In Crushing It!, Gary explains why that’s even more true today, offering his unique perspective on what has changed and what principles remain timeless. He also shares stories from other entrepreneurs who have grown wealthier—and not just financially—than they ever imagined possible by following Crush It principles. The secret to their success (and Gary’s) has everything to do with their understanding of the social media platforms, and their willingness to do whatever it took to make these tools work to their utmost potential. That’s what Crushing It! teaches readers to do.

    In this lively, practical, and inspiring book, Gary dissects every current major social media platform so that anyone, from a plumber to a professional ice skater, will know exactly how to amplify his or her personal brand on each. He offers both theoretical and tactical advice on how to become the biggest thing on old standbys like Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, Pinterest, and Snapchat; podcast platforms like Spotify, Soundcloud, iHeartRadio, and iTunes; and other emerging platforms such as Musical.ly. For those with more experience, Crushing It! illuminates some little-known nuances and provides innovative tips and clever tweaks proven to enhance more common tried-and-true strategies.

    Crushing It! is a state-of-the-art guide to building your own path to professional and financial success, but it’s not about getting rich. It’s a blueprint to living life on your own terms.

    Add to cart
Category:

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop
×