Welcome to KibangaBooks Shop

Histories of the Hanged: The Dirty War in Kenya and the End of Empire by David Anderson

KSh2,495.00


In “a gripping narrative that is all but impossible to put down” (Joseph C. Miller), Histories of the Hangedexposes the long-hidden colonial crimes of the British in Kenya. This groundbreaking work tells how the brutal war between the colonial government and the insurrectionist Mau Mau between 1952 and 1960 dominated the final bloody decade of imperialism in East Africa. Using extraordinary new evidence, David Anderson puts the colonial government on trial with eyewitness testimony from over 800 court cases and previously unseen archives. His research exonerates the Kikuyu rebels; hardly the terrorists they were thought to be; and reveals the British to be brutal aggressors in a “dirty war” that involved leaders at the highest ranks of the British government. This astonishing piece of scholarship portrays a teetering colonial empire in its final phase; employing whatever military and propaganda methods it could to preserve an order that could no longer hold.

1 in stock

Compare

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Histories of the Hanged: The Dirty War in Kenya and the End of Empire by David Anderson”

Your email address will not be published.

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Kibangabooks
  • Vendor: Kibangabooks
  • Address: nairobi
  • 3.60 rating from 5 reviews
  • Do you hesitate about putting forward ideas? Are you reluctant to claim credit for your achievements? Do you find it difficult to get the support you need from your boss or the recognition you deserve from your colleagues?

    If your answer to any of these is ‘Yes’, How Women Rise will help you get back on track. Inspiring and practical by turns, it identifies twelve common habits that can prove an obstacle to future success and tells you how to overcome them. In the process, it points the way to a career that will satisfy your ambitions and help you make the difference you want to make in the world.

    Add to cart
  • New!

    Elizabeth thought that by having a baby just like Peter had wanted them to, that it would make their love blossom even more and make her dreams of having a perfect family come true.Peter changed his mind shortly afterwards and he felt like Elizabeth’s pregnancy had destroyed him.

    Her pregnancy announcement came as
    a shock to him and he felt like all his dreams for the future have been crushed.He did not know how people would perceive him.According to Peter he was not ready to be a father! Elizabeth had to live with the reality that just like her mom, she was going to raise her baby as a single mother;though her mom’s story was
    different.

    This would mean both tears and joy for her!
    She has to brace herself for a breakup from Peter and her new life as a single mother.

    About the Author
    Annette is a prolific writer who spends most of her time developing and creating new content on her blog, (My wild random thoughts).Apart from that she runs her own charitable organization that helps provide sanitary towels to underprivileged girls.

    Add to cart
  • OUT OF STOCK

    An Anthology of East African Poetry An Anthology of East Africa Poetryis a collection of recent poems from Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania, Malawi and Zimbabwe

    Read more
  • Nairobi Noir is an act of excavation, rediscovering the city’s ossified past and infusing life to preserve it for future generations. It is also an act of celebration, reminding readers of the brilliance of the best-known writers to emerge from this part of the world, and heralding the birth of new writers whose gifts, we can safely predict, will shine brightly in the years ahead.

    The oldest writer in this anthology is eighty-one, the youngest is only twenty-four; if there is any inference one can draw from this demographic it is that this anthology offers an entire spectrum of Kenyan writing: the past, present, and future. If we can allow one extravagant claim, a collection of this nature is unprecedented in Kenya’s literary history.

    Although the range of issues explored in Nairobi Noir is as diverse as its contributors, it all gestures toward a common theme. In this concrete jungle, the hunters and herders live on. As do the hunted . .

    Add to cart
  • New!

    In The Four Agreements, bestselling author don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, The Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love.

    – A New York Times bestseller for over a decade
    – Over 6.5 million copies sold in the U.S.
    – Translated into 40 languages worldwide

    “This book by don Miguel Ruiz, simple yet so powerful, has made a tremendous difference in how I think and act in every encounter.” — Oprah Winfrey

    “Don Miguel Ruiz’s book is a roadmap to enlightenment and freedom.” — Deepak Chopra, Author, The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

    “An inspiring book with many great lessons.” — Wayne Dyer, Author, Real Magic

    “In the tradition of Castaneda, Ruiz distills essential Toltec wisdom, expressing with clarity and impeccability what it means for men and women to live as peaceful warriors in the modern world.” — Dan Millman, Author, Way of the Peaceful Warrior

    Author: Don Miguel Ruiz

    ISBN:9781878424310

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
  • The must-read new bold and immersive West African-inspired fantasy series, as featured on Cosmo, Bustle, Book Riot, and Refinery 29. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther. Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman’s worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold – the colour of impurity, of a demon – she faces a consequence worse than death.

    She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: she is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed…

    “Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one.” Buzzfeed “[A] stormingly good debut.”

    The Observer “Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy.”

    Refinery 29 “The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful.”

    Stephanie Garber, #1 NYT bestselling author of Caraval – “A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold, The Gilded Ones lifts the veil of violent patriarchy and burns the idea of purity to the ground. Must read!” Dhonielle Clayton, NYT bestselling author of The Belles “Debut author Namina Forna’s created a fierce female protagonist you’ll root for and a captivating world that feels so real you can step inside it.” Bookriot

     

    BUY Gilded Ones by Namina Forna affordable price in Nairobi, Kenya.

     

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Kenyan motivational books. FREE Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
Category:

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop
×