Welcome to KibangaBooks Shop

Histories of the Hanged: The Dirty War in Kenya and the End of Empire by David Anderson

KShs2,495.00


In “a gripping narrative that is all but impossible to put down” (Joseph C. Miller), Histories of the Hangedexposes the long-hidden colonial crimes of the British in Kenya. This groundbreaking work tells how the brutal war between the colonial government and the insurrectionist Mau Mau between 1952 and 1960 dominated the final bloody decade of imperialism in East Africa. Using extraordinary new evidence, David Anderson puts the colonial government on trial with eyewitness testimony from over 800 court cases and previously unseen archives. His research exonerates the Kikuyu rebels; hardly the terrorists they were thought to be; and reveals the British to be brutal aggressors in a “dirty war” that involved leaders at the highest ranks of the British government. This astonishing piece of scholarship portrays a teetering colonial empire in its final phase; employing whatever military and propaganda methods it could to preserve an order that could no longer hold.

1 in stock

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Histories of the Hanged: The Dirty War in Kenya and the End of Empire by David Anderson”

Your email address will not be published.

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Kibangabooks
  • Vendor: Kibangabooks
  • Address: nairobi
  • 3.11 rating from 9 reviews
  • Born a Crime is the story of a mischievous young boy who grows into a restless young man as he struggles to find himself in a world where he was never supposed to exist. It is also the story of that young man’s relationship with his fearless, rebellious, and fervently religious mother: his teammate, a woman determined to save her son from the cycle of poverty, violence, and abuse that would ultimately threaten her own life.

    The eighteen personal essays collected here are by turns hilarious, dramatic, and deeply affecting. Whether subsisting on caterpillars for dinner during hard times, being thrown from a moving car during an attempted kidnapping, or just trying to survive the life-and-death pitfalls of dating in high school, Trevor illuminates his curious world with an incisive wit and unflinching honesty. His stories weave together to form a moving and searingly funny portrait of a boy making his way through a damaged world in a dangerous time, armed only with a keen sense of humor and a mother’s unconventional, unconditional love.

    Add to cart
  • New!

    ‘I loved every page’ Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Kiss Quotient’Smart, funny, and sexy’ Meg Cabot, author of No Judgments and the Princess Diaries seriesTalia Hibbert delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being ‘boring’ and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbour to help her get a life – perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory and Helen Hoang!Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan and a list. After almost – but not quite – dying, she’s come up with a list of directives to help her ‘Get a Life’: – Enjoy a drunken night out – Ride a motorbike – Go camping – Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex – Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage – And . .

    . do something badBut it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written out step-by-step guidelines. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job: Redford ‘Red’ Morgan.

    With tattoos and a motorbike, Red is the perfect helper in her mission to rebel, but as they spend more time together, Chloe realises there’s much more to him than his tough exterior implies. Soon she’s left wanting more from him than she ever expected . .

    . maybe there’s more to life than her list ever imagined?***Praise for Get A Life, Chloe Brown:’Funny, sexy and intensely romantic’ Lucy Parker, author of The Austen Playbook’Clever, sweet, sexy and brilliant’ Carrie Ann Ryan, New York Times bestselling author’So so so so good’ Andie J. Christopher, USA Today bestselling author of Not the Girl You Marry’A pure exuberant delight.

    I loved this book’ KJ Charles, author of Proper English'[An] awesome book, so full of heart and warmth and feels!’ Charlotte Stein, author of Never Sweeter’Hilarious, heartfelt and hot’ Kirkus Reviews (starred review)’If you liked Jasmine Guillroy’s The Proposal, you’ll love Talia Hibbert’s Get A Life, Chloe Brown’ Marie Claire

     

    Buy GET A LIFE CHLOE BROWN THE PERFECT FUN AND FEEL GOOD ROMANCE Author : Talia Hibbert online at best price in Nairobi, Kenya

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
  • Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

    Can Ben’s relationship with Fallon—and simultaneously his novel—be considered a love story if it ends in heartbreak?

    Buy cheapest book by title, November 9 by Colleen Hoover online at best price in Nairobi, Kenya

    Book Available in kenya| Leading and best Online bookstore/ bookshop| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Same-Day book delivery

     

    Add to cart
  • New!

    The celebratory revealing inspiring and entertaining autobiography of the greatest manager in the history of British football

    Add to cart
  • New!
    OUT OF STOCK

    In what some are calling the most controversial marketing book of the decade. Sell Like Crazy reveals an 8-phase selling system for generating absurd amounts of leads, sales and profit for any business in any marketing with digital marketing!

    If you’re tired of struggling to make online marketing work…

    Sick of throwing money down the drain with PPC advertising…

    Or just want to create a torrential downpour of hyper-profitable clients for your business…

    Then THIS will be the most exciting, life-changing book you will EVER read.

    Read more
Category:

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop
×