Welcome to KibangaBooks Shop

The Chibok Girls: The Boko Haram Kidnappings and Islamist Militancy in Nigeria by Helon Habila

KShs1,250.00

On April 14, 2014, 276 girls from the Chibok Secondary School in northern Nigeria were kidnapped by Boko Haram, the world’s deadliest terrorist group. Most were never heard from again. Acclaimed Nigerian novelist Helon Habila, who grew up in northern Nigeria, returned to Chibok and gained intimate access to the families of the kidnapped to offer a devastating account of this tragedy that stunned the world. With compassion and deep understanding of historical context, Habila tells the stories of the girls and the anguish of their parents; chronicles the rise of Boko Haram and the Nigerian government’s inept response; and captures the indifference of the media and the international community whose attention has moved on.

Employing a fiction writer’s sensibility and a journalist’s curiosity, THE CHIBOK GIRLS provides poignant portraits of everyday Nigerians whose lives have been transformed by extremist forces. Habila illuminates the long history of colonialism–and unmasks cultural and religious dynamics–that gave rise to the conflicts that have ravaged the region to this day.

1 in stock

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Chibok Girls: The Boko Haram Kidnappings and Islamist Militancy in Nigeria by Helon Habila”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Kibangabooks
  • Vendor: Kibangabooks
  • Address: nairobi
  • 2.55 rating from 175 reviews
  • Success is Never Ending, Failure is Never Final reveals that one’s dreams, even if they are impossible are the way to success. By throwing out the impossibilities, one uproots all the negatives and see the possibilities bloom into positives. The book depicts the steps for turning dreams into reality and the amazing power of possibility thinking. The other topics covered in this book are the 4 Cs of success thinking, how to banish impossibility thinking from one’s life, and the miracle ingredients of faith and hope. Success is Never Ending, Failure is Never Final is for all those people who have been discouraged and are made to believe that they could never realise their dreams and reach their goals. The book motivates those people who are often suicidal as it brings out the positivity in their lives and creates enthusiasm in them to reach their final goal.

    Add to cart
  • New!

    Strategic thinking is an essential life skill that business leaders, entrepreneurs, and marketing strategists have mastered for business success. If you’re new to this way of thinking, you might feel bogged down with academic texts and esoteric theories. But it doesn’t have to be that way.

    Using decades of experience as a strategy advisor, Sunny Bindra delivers a simple and practical method for thinking about and applying strategy to your business and life in Up & Ahead. Written to deliver deep insights with an easy and natural light touch, without any unnecessary theory or jargon, Bindra’s book distills strategy into four manageable steps:

    1. DIAGNOSE: What’s really going on in our world and what we need to become

    2. POSITION: Where we choose to play and how we think we might win

    3. INSPIRE: How we will explain this to our people and excite them with it

    4. ACT: The concerted action sets we need to make this strategy happen

    Even if you have learned strategy formally, Up & Ahead will help you unlearn all that was unnecessary, so that the necessary can take prominence.

    Add to cart
  • OUT OF STOCK

    Following the smash success of her best-selling book, Pillow Thoughts, Courtney Peppernell now returns with the follow-up sequel Pillow Thoughts II: Healing the Heart

    Peppernell understands that healing is a process, and Pillow Thoughts II eloquently captures the time and experience that one goes through on their journey to peace through restoration.

    A collection of inspirational and comforting poems for anyone who is mending from a broken heart.

    Read more
  • New!

    get a life by chloe brown

    ‘I loved every page’ Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Kiss Quotient’Smart, funny, and sexy’ Meg Cabot, author of No Judgments and the Princess Diaries seriesTalia Hibbert delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being ‘boring’ and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbour to help her get a life – perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory and Helen Hoang!Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan and a list. After almost – but not quite – dying, she’s come up with a list of directives to help her ‘Get a Life’: – Enjoy a drunken night out – Ride a motorbike – Go camping – Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex – Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage – And . .

    . do something badBut it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written out step-by-step guidelines. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job: Redford ‘Red’ Morgan.

    With tattoos and a motorbike, Red is the perfect helper in her mission to rebel, but as they spend more time together, Chloe realises there’s much more to him than his tough exterior implies. Soon she’s left wanting more from him than she ever expected . .

    . maybe there’s more to life than her list ever imagined?***Praise for Get A Life, Chloe Brown:’Funny, sexy and intensely romantic’ Lucy Parker, author of The Austen Playbook’Clever, sweet, sexy and brilliant’ Carrie Ann Ryan, New York Times bestselling author’So so so so good’ Andie J. Christopher, USA Today bestselling author of Not the Girl You Marry’A pure exuberant delight.

    I loved this book’ KJ Charles, author of Proper English'[An] awesome book, so full of heart and warmth and feels!’ Charlotte Stein, author of Never Sweeter’Hilarious, heartfelt and hot’ Kirkus Reviews (starred review)’If you liked Jasmine Guillroy’s The Proposal, you’ll love Talia Hibbert’s Get A Life, Chloe Brown’ Marie Claire

     

    Buy GET A LIFE CHLOE BROWN THE PERFECT FUN AND FEEL GOOD ROMANCE Author : Talia Hibbert online at best price in Nairobi, Kenya

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
  • OUT OF STOCK

    In this moving collection of thought-provoking essays infused with her unique wisdom and deep humor, Union uses that same fearlessness to tell astonishingly personal and true stories about power, color, gender, feminism, and fame. Union tackles a range of experiences, including bullying, beauty standards, and competition between women in Hollywood, growing up in white California suburbia and then spending summers with her black relatives in Nebraska, coping with crushes, puberty, and the divorce of her parents. Genuine and perceptive, Union bravely lays herself bare, uncovering a complex and courageous life of self-doubt and self-discovery with incredible poise and brutal honesty. Throughout, she compels us to be ethical and empathetic, and reminds us of the importance of confidence, self-awareness, and the power of sharing truth, laughter, and support.

    Read more
  • New!

    The modern world is rigged unfairly in men’s favour, from pensions to the tampon tax, bearing children to boardroom bullying. Exploring these injustices, Annabelle Williams, former financial journalist for The Times, shows how society conspires to limit women’s wealth.

    Add to cart
Category:

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop
×