Welcome to KibangaBooks Shop

The Chibok Girls: The Boko Haram Kidnappings and Islamist Militancy in Nigeria by Helon Habila

KShs1,250.00

On April 14, 2014, 276 girls from the Chibok Secondary School in northern Nigeria were kidnapped by Boko Haram, the world’s deadliest terrorist group. Most were never heard from again. Acclaimed Nigerian novelist Helon Habila, who grew up in northern Nigeria, returned to Chibok and gained intimate access to the families of the kidnapped to offer a devastating account of this tragedy that stunned the world. With compassion and deep understanding of historical context, Habila tells the stories of the girls and the anguish of their parents; chronicles the rise of Boko Haram and the Nigerian government’s inept response; and captures the indifference of the media and the international community whose attention has moved on.

Employing a fiction writer’s sensibility and a journalist’s curiosity, THE CHIBOK GIRLS provides poignant portraits of everyday Nigerians whose lives have been transformed by extremist forces. Habila illuminates the long history of colonialism–and unmasks cultural and religious dynamics–that gave rise to the conflicts that have ravaged the region to this day.

1 in stock

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Chibok Girls: The Boko Haram Kidnappings and Islamist Militancy in Nigeria by Helon Habila”

Your email address will not be published.

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Kibangabooks
  • Vendor: Kibangabooks
  • Address: nairobi
  • 3.11 rating from 9 reviews
  • OUT OF STOCK
    In this book — small and portable enough to fit in a purse, suitcase, backpack, briefcase, or even a pocket — Joyce Meyer addresses the many issues that women face today, and encourages them to embrace their unique identity in Christ. Joyce touches on topics like:
    • Living beyond feelings
    • Overcoming fear and insecurity
    • Being wise with words
    • Establishing proper priorities
    • Defeating negative circumstances
    • Overcoming an “I can’t” attitude
    • Enjoying the favor of God
    Women need inspiration today more than ever, and Habits of a Godly Woman will encourage and motivate you to make it through the day with God at the forefront.
    Read more
  • Commit to excellence and celebrate your natural gifts by embracing eight principles for professional and spiritual success from #1 New York Times bestselling author Joel Osteen.

    In You Can, You Will, these eight undeniable qualities of winners can help you reach your potential and achieve new levels of success in your life:

    • Keep Your Vision in Front of You
    • Run Your Race
    • Expect Good Things
    • Have a Positive Mindset
    • Commit to Excellence
    • Keep Growing
    • Serve Others
    • Stay Passionate

    You are created to be a winner. Live by Joel Osteen’s eight principles and boldly go in the direction of your destiny.

    Add to cart
  • OUT OF STOCK

    ‘This has bestseller written all over it. Fast-paced, funny, shocking, unputdownable. I loved it’ PAULA HAWKINS, author of The Girl on the Train

    ‘I just raced through Wahala. Nikki May writes so well about friendship, food, fashion and the many ways modern women can stumble in their careers and personal lives’ CLARE CHAMBERS, author of Small Pleasures

    Ronke, Simi and Boo are inseparable mixed-race friends living in London. They have the gift of two cultures, Nigerian and English, though not all of them choose to see it that way.

    Everyday racism has never held them back, but now in their thirties, they question their future. Ronke wants a husband (he must be Nigerian); Boo enjoys (correction: endures) stay-at-home motherhood; while Simi, full of fashion career dreams, rolls her eyes as her boss refers to her urban vibe yet again.

    When Isobel, a lethally glamorous friend from their past arrives in town, she is determined to fix their futures for them. Cracks in their friendship begin to appear, and it is soon obvious Isobel is not sorting but wrecking. When she is driven to a terrible act, the women are forced to reckon with a crime in their past that may just have repeated itself.

    A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on love, race and family, Wahala will have you laughing, crying and gasping in horror. Boldly political about class, colorism and clothes, here is a truly inclusive tale that will speak to anyone who has ever cherished friendship, in all its forms.

     

    BUY

    Wahala by Nikki May affordable price in Nairobi, Kenya.

     

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Kenyan motivational books. FREE Same-Day book delivery.

    Read more
  • From the international bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying comes a brand-new addictive thriller.

    Ivy, Mateo and Cal used to be close – best friends back in middle school.

    Now all they have in common is a bad day. So for old time’s sake they skip school together – one last time.

    But when the trio spot Brian ‘Boney’ Mahoney ditching class too, they follow him – right into a murder scene.

    They all have a connection to the victim. And they’re ALL hiding something.

    When their day of freedom turns deadly, it’s only a matter of time before the truth comes out . . .

    It’s Ferris Bueller’s Day Off with murder, perfect for fans of One Of Us Is Lying and A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder. This explosive new thriller is impossible to put down.

     

    BUY You’ll be the Death of me (Penguin) by Karen M. McManus affordable price in Nairobi, Kenya.

     

    Book Available in kenya| Online bookstore| Kenya’s leading bookshop|Kenyan motivational books. FREE Same-Day book delivery.

    Add to cart
  • The Minister’s Daughter addresses the all-time discrepancies that happens in religious families. When the parents/father is busy shepherding the congregation, feared, even revered by the flock, their children are rotting outside there; living a life (of crime, immorality, carelessness) to shame their parents. This is a classic example of such, and it is sexy, pacy, and seductive.

    Add to cart
Category:

Cart

Your Cart is Empty

Back To Shop
×